EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES

Present: Baesu, Bearnes, Eklund, Gorman, Leiter, Lewis, Pierobon, Reimer, Shrader,

Tschetter, Vakilzadian, VanderPlas

Absent: Gruverman

Date: Tuesday, May 6, 2025

Location: Nebraska Union, Platte River Room

Note: These are not verbatim minutes. They are a summary of the discussions at the

Executive Committee meeting as corrected by those participating.

1.0 Call (Eklund)

Shrader called the meeting to order 4:51 p.m.

2.0 Announcements

No announcements were made.

3.0 Approval of April 29, 2025 Minutes

Shrader asked if there were any further revisions to the minutes. Hearing none he asked for a motion to approve the minutes. Tschetter moved and Baesu seconded approval of the minutes. Motion approved by the Executive Committee.

4.0 Unfinished Business

4.1 UNO Resolution

Shrader noted that UNO created a resolution regarding Board of Regents Bylaw Section 1.6 and calling for "any proposal to create, consolidate, or eliminate administrative units, academic units, departments, or institutes include formal, substantive consultation with campus-based faculty governance bodies prior to final decisions."

Leiter reported that after carefully reviewing UNO's resolution, which he felt was quite worthy, he thought that we would need to create a resolution that was more direct. He suggested that as a first step the Executive Committee should write a memo to President Gold indicating the Committee's concern about what exactly the proposed language "in consultation with" means. The Executive Committee agreed to discuss the issue further at its next meeting.

5.0 New Business

5.1 Agenda Items for Chancellor Bennett and VC Boehm

Due to the lateness of the meeting, Shrader asked the Executive Committee members send Griffin agenda items for the meeting with Chancellor Bennett and VC Boehm next week.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:11 p.m. The next meeting of the Executive Committee will be on Tuesday, May 13, 2025, at 2:30 pm. The meeting will be held in 203 Alexander Building.

The minutes are respectfully submitted by Karen Griffin, Coordinator and Ann Tschetter, Secretary.